Highest Powerplay Score in IPL History Updated 2024


IPL or Indian Premier League is one of the most watched matches across the world. In past years, IPL has gifted the world with great teams and energetic players who have made their fans proud. IPL is a game of suspense and in an adrenaline-fueling world of IPL, the powerplay overs turn the game into an explosion of batting displays and strategic bowling. 

What Is Powerplay in IPL?

You must be wondering what exactly is powerplay overs in the IPL. The initial starting overs of the match are very crucial and the pressure on the batsman is really high as the bowler is quite focused in the starting of the match. It takes a lot of understanding for the batsman at the start of the match. 

To help the batsman score better for their team, there is a fielding restriction rule imposed on the bowling team in the starting 6 overs of the match, called the powerplay. During the powerplay overs, only 2 fielders are allowed outside the 30-yard circle. The bowlers also have the advantage of the powerplay as sometimes the batsman loses control and plays inattentively. 

In today’s article, we will be discussing the highest powerplay score in IPL. So without any further delay, let’s unveil the top teams with the IPL highest score in powerplay with their scores and year of making records. 

List of Highest Powerplay Scores in IPL History

Here is the list of the highest score in powerplay in IPL

Kolkata Knight RidersRoyal Challenger Bangalore105/02017
Chennai Super KingsPunjab Kings100/22014
Chennai Super KingsMumbai Indians90/02015
Kochi Tuskers KeralaRajasthan Royals87/22011
Kolkata Knight RidersRoyal Challenger Bangalore86/02024
Punjab KingsSunrisers Hyderabad86/12014
Rajasthan RoyalsSunrisers Hyderabad85/12023
Mumbai IndiansDelhi Capitals84/02018
Deccan ChargersDelhi Capitals84/12009
Punjab KingsRoyal Challenger Bangalore83/12022
Mumbai IndiansSunrisers Hyderabad83/12021
Mumbai IndiansPunjab Kings82/12017
Delhi CapitalsPunjab Kings81/02022
Sunrisers HyderabadMumbai Indians81/12024
Rajasthan RoyalsChennai Super Kings81/12021
Lucknow SuperGiantsChennai Super Kings80/12023
Sunrisers HyderabadKolkata Knight Riders79/02017
Highest Powerplay score in IPL

Kolkata Knight Riders (Powerplay Score- 105/0)

On May 7, 2017, Kolkata Knight Riders’ energetic batsmen Sunil Narine and Chris Lynn broke the record for the highest score in IPL in powerplay history by scoring 105 runs in 6 overs. The match was played against Royal Challengers Bangalore and was played at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

Chennai Super Kings (Powerplay Score- 100/2)

On May 30, 2014, the top batsmen of Chennai Super Kings Dwayne Smith and Faf Du Plessis set the record by scoring the second-highest powerplay score in IPL history. They achieved 100 runs in 6 overs. The match was played in Wankhede Stadium and was played against the Punjab Kings. 

Chennai Super Kings (Powerplay Score- 90/0)

On April 17, 2015, Chennai Super Kings broke the records by scoring the third-highest score in powerplay in IPL. In 16 balls they scored the first 50 runs but the run rate slowed down in the next 3 overs. The match was played in Wankhede Stadium and was played against the Mumbai Indians. 

Kochi Tuskers Kerala (Powerplay Score- 87/2)

In 2011 and the 61st league match, Mahela Jayawardene of Kochi Tuskers Kerala with Brendon McCullum played against Rajasthan Royals and broke the record by achieving the fourth-highest powerplay score in IPL. The match was played in Indore. 

Punjab Kings (Powerplay Score- 86/1)

The top players of Punjab Kings- Manan Vohra and Wriddhiman Saha started to chase 212 runs playing against Sunrisers Hyderabad. In powerplay overs, both scored 86/1 placing their space in one of the highest powerplay score in IPL. The match was played in Hyderabad. 

Rajasthan Royals (Powerplay Score- 85/1)

Jos Butler and Yashasvi Jaiswal with their aggressive batting played for Rajasthan Royals and scored a mighty 85 runs in powerplay overs against Sunrisers Hyderabad and secured their place with one of the highest powerplay score in IPL. They played at Hyderabad stadium and sparked the entire stadium. 

Mumbai Indians (Powerplay Score- 84/0)

The top batters of Mumbai Indians Surya Kumar Yadav, Evin Lewis, and Ishan Kishan scored a total of 84 runs in the first 6 overs. They scored a total of 155 runs by 6 wickets. They scored the IPL highest score in powerplay. The match was played in Wankhede against Delhi Capitals.

Deccan Chargers (Powerplay Score- 84/1)

Deccan Chargers have been one of the strongest and ruthless teams in the IPL season 2009. They scored one of the highest score in powerplay in IPL that season with the aggressive batting of one of the top players, Adam Gilchrist, who scored 84 runs playing against Delhi Capitals. Adam Gilchrist also won the Man of the Match Award in that season of IPL. 

Mumbai Indians (Powerplay Score- 83/1)

Ishan Kishan, the opening batsman of Mumbai Indians hit a total of 32 balls scoring 83 runs and made the top 10 positions of the highest score in IPL in powerplay. The match was played against Sunrisers Hyderabad in Abu Dhabi. 

Punjab Kings (Powerplay Score- 83/1)

Jonny Bairstow with Shikhar Dhawan made Punjab Kings proud with their explosive opening and scored a total of 83 runs and acquired the top 10 highest score in IPL powerplay. The match was played against Royal Challenger Bangalore in Brabourne.

In today’s article, we discussed the top teams who scored the highest powerplay score in IPL. Powerplay overs are considered the turning point of the IPL match and it requires strategic planning with the team as it can be an advantage or disadvantage for both the teams playing. 

FAQ’s About Highest Powerplay Score in IPL

What is the highest powerplay score in IPL? 

The highest score in powerplay in IPL is 105 runs in 6 overs.

Why is the fielding restriction imposed during powerplay?

The fielding restrictions are imposed to help the batsman to score the boundaries and increase the run rate.

What are the rules of powerplay?

The main rule is that during the powerplay overs, only 2 fielders are allocated outside the 30-yard circle.

Do all formats of cricket have powerplay?

No, all formats of cricket don’t have powerplay. The powerplay is unique to only limited to cricket matches.

What happens after the completion of powerplay overs?

After the powerplay overs are finished, the fielding restrictions are demolished and the fielders can spread over the whole ground according to their strategies.


Related Articles

Leave a Comment

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here