IPL Team Owners 2024 List – Complete Detail of Tata IPL Owners


The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a professional T20 cricket league in India that has captured the attention of the entire world. The league is known for its exciting matches, high-profile players, and its massive fan base. However, one aspect that often goes unnoticed is the role of the IPL team owners. These are the people who invest millions of dollars to own and operate a franchise in the league. Now take a closer look at the IPL team owners, their backgrounds, and how they contribute to the success of their respective teams.

As of now, there are ten teams in the Indian Premier League (IPL):

List Of Teams in IPL

  1. Sunrisers Hyderabad
  2. Chennai Super Kings
  3. Rajasthan Royals
  4. Delhi Capitals
  5. Mumbai Indians
  6. Royal Challengers Bangalore
  7. Kolkata Knight Riders
  8. Punjab Kings
  9. Gujarat Titans
  10. Lucknow Supergiants

Read More: List Of Movies Based on Games & Sports

IPL Team Owners 2024

This year, there are 10 Teams in the IPL, each with its own owner(s). Let’s take a look at each team and their IPL Team owners:

Chennai Super KingsN SrinivasanChennai Super Kings Cricket Limited & India Cements
Delhi CapitalsParth JindalGMR Group and JSW Group
Punjab KingsPreity Zinta, Ness Wadia, Mohit Burman, and Karan Paul
Mumbai IndiansMukesh AmbaniReliance Industries
Kolkata Knight RidersShah Rukh Khan, Juhi Chawla & Jay MehtaRed Chillies Entertainment & Mehta Group
Sunrisers HyderabadKalanithi MaranSun TV Network
Rajasthan RoyalsManoj BadaleBlenheim Chalcot
Royal Challengers BangaloreUnited Spirits Ltd.
Gujarat TitansCVC Capital Partners
Lucknow Super GiantsDr Sanjiv GoenkaRP Sanjiv Goenka Group
IPL Team Owners List 2024
  1. Sunrisers Hyderabad Owner – Kalanithi Maran

The Sunrisers Hyderabad franchise is owned by Kalanithi Maran, who is the Chairman and Managing Director of the Sun Group. Maran is a media magnate who owns a number of television channels and newspapers in India. He purchased the Sunrisers Hyderabad franchise in 2012, after the previous owners, Deccan Chronicle Holdings Limited, ran into financial difficulties.

  1. Chennai Super Kings Owner – N. Srinivasan

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) is one of the most successful teams in IPL history, having won the tournament three times. The franchise is owned by N. Srinivasan, who is a former President of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). Srinivasan is also the Managing Director of India Cements, which is the company that owns the CSK franchise.

  1. Rajasthan Royals Owner – Manoj Badale

The Rajasthan Royals franchise is owned by Manoj Badale, who is a British businessman and the co-founder of Blenheim Chalcot, a venture capital firm. Badale acquired the franchise in 2019, after the previous owners, Jaipur IPL Cricket Private Ltd, were suspended by the BCCI for two years for their involvement in a betting scandal.

  1. Delhi Capitals Owner – GMR Group and JSW Group

The Delhi Capitals franchise is jointly owned by the GMR Group and JSW Group. The GMR Group is a large infrastructure company that operates airports and power plants in India, while the JSW Group is a conglomerate with interests in steel, energy, and cement. The two groups came together to purchase the Delhi franchise in 2008.

  1. Mumbai Indians Owner – Reliance Industries

The Mumbai Indians franchise is owned by Reliance Industries, which is one of the largest conglomerates in India. Reliance Industries is headed by Mukesh Ambani, who is one of the richest men in the world. The company purchased the Mumbai franchise in 2008, and the team has since become one of the most successful in IPL history, having won the tournament a record five times.

  1. Royal Challengers Bangalore Owner – United Spirits

The Royal Challengers Bangalore franchise is owned by United Spirits, which is a subsidiary of the British alcoholic beverages company, Diageo. United Spirits is one of the largest spirits companies in the world, and it purchased the Bangalore franchise in 2008. The team has yet to win an IPL title, despite having some of the biggest names in world cricket on their roster.

  1. Kolkata Knight Riders Owner – Shah Rukh Khan, Juhi Chawla, and Jay Mehta

The Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) franchise is owned by a consortium that includes Bollywood superstar Shah Rukh Khan, actress Juhi Chawla, and her husband Jay Mehta. Khan is one of the biggest stars in the Indian film industry, while Chawla and Mehta are also prominent figures in the entertainment industry. The KKR franchise was purchased in 2008, and the team has since won the IPL title twice.

  1. Punjab Kings Owner – Preity Zinta, Ness Wadia, Mohit Burman, and Karan Paul

The Punjab Kings (formerly Kings XI Punjab) franchise is jointly owned by Bollywood actress Preity Zinta, businessman Ness Wadia, Mohit Burman, and Karan Paul. The franchise was purchased in 2008, and despite not having won an IPL title yet, the team has consistently performed well in the league.

9. Gujarat Titans Owner – CVC Capital Partners

In 2018, CVC Capital Partners acquired a controlling stake in the Indian Premier League (IPL) team, then known as the Gujarat Lions, from its previous owners Intex Technologies. Following the acquisition, the team was renamed the “Gujarat Titans” and is currently owned by CVC Capital Partners.

10. Lucknow Supergiants Owner – Sanjiv Goenka

Sanjiv Goenka is the owner of the Lucknow SuperGiants franchise in the Indian Premier League (IPL). The team is part of the RPSG Group, which is a conglomerate with diverse interests in various sectors including power and energy, retail, sports, and entertainment.

The RPSG Group is headquartered in Kolkata, India, and is one of the largest business groups in the country. Sanjiv Goenka is the Chairman of the RPSG Group, which was founded by his father, R.P. Goenka.

The IPL team owners play a crucial role in the success of the league. They invest millions of dollars to purchase and operate a franchise, and are responsible for hiring players, coaches, and support staff. In addition to this, they are also responsible for marketing and promoting their teams, and ensuring that they have a strong fan base.

Read More: 51 Greatest Cricketer Of All Time – Best Cricketer In The World Ever

The IPL has proven to be a successful business model, with the league valued at over $6 billion. The team owners have been instrumental in the growth of the league, and their contribution cannot be overstated. As the IPL continues to grow and evolve, it will be interesting to see how the team owners adapt to the changing landscape, and continue to drive the success of the league.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) About IPL Team Owners

How many IPL teams are there this year?

There are 10 IPL teams this year.

What is the IPL start date?  

The IPL 2024 start date is the 22nd of March.

Who are the IPL team owners this time?

There are many IPL team owners this time including Kalanithi Maran, Reliance Industries, United Spirits, etc.

Where can I download the IPL match list?

You can find the IPL match list here.


Related Articles

Leave a Comment

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here