Who is The Captain Of Indian Cricket Team?


The Indian cricket team has a storied history with several captains who have led the team with distinction. In this blog post, we will delve into the journey of past Indian cricket team captains and shed light on the current captain who has been at the helm in recent years.

Read More: Umran Malik Fastest Bowl In Cricket

Past Indian Cricket Team Captains:

The Indian cricket team has seen a number of notable cricketers, captains throughout its history. Let’s take a look at some of the prominent names who have led the team in the past and their respective win-loss records:

Captain NameSpanMatches (Tests)Matches (ODIs)Matches (T20Is)Achievements and Notable Facts
CK Nayudu1932-19347The first captain of the Indian cricket team in Test matches
Maharajkumar of Vizianagram1936-19363
Nawab of Pataudi1946-195540Led India to its first-ever Test series win
Lala Amarnath1952-19532Scored India’s first Test century
Vijay Hazare1951-195314
Vinoo Mankad1955-19596Legendary all-rounder and known for his batting and bowling skills
Ghulam Ahmed1952-19553Prominent spinner for the Indian cricket team
Polly Umrigar1955-19588Held the record for the most runs in Tests for India at the time
Hemu Adhikari1959-19607
Gulabrai Ramchand1959-19604
Nari Contractor1960-196212
Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi1962-197540Led India to its first overseas Test series win
Ajit Wadekar1971-197416Led India to its first-ever Test series wins in England and the West Indies
Sunil Gavaskar1976-198547First player to score 10,000 runs in Test cricket
Bishen Singh Bedi1976-197822Prominent left-arm spinner and a key member of the famous Indian spin quartet
Gundappa Viswanath19801Known for his stylish batting and memorable innings
Kapil Dev1982-19843474Led India to its first-ever Cricket World Cup win in 1983
Sunil Valson19851Played a single ODI as a captain
Dilip Vengsarkar1985-1989109
Krishnamachari Srikkanth1989-1990413Known for his aggressive batting style
Mohammad Azharuddin1989-199947174Captained India in three Cricket World Cups
Sachin Tendulkar1996-20002573Considered one of the greatest batsmen of all time
Sourav Ganguly2000-200549146Instilled a new aggressive and fearless approach in Indian cricket
Rahul Dravid2003-20072579Known for his solid batting technique and resilience
Virender Sehwag2005-20124121Known for his explosive batting at the top of the order
Anil Kumble2007-20081421Legendary spinner and India’s highest wicket-taker
Mahendra Singh Dhoni2007-20166019972Led India to multiple ICC titles, including the 2011 Cricket World Cup and the 2007 T20 World Cup
Gautam Gambhir2010-201266Played a crucial role in India’s 2011 World Cup win
Virender Sehwag (acting)2003-20121
Virat Kohli2014-2022659545Known for his exceptional batting and aggressive captaincy
Ajinkya Rahane2017-202151412Filled in as captain during Kohli’s absence and led India to historic Test series win in Australia
Rohit Sharma2021-present51019Led India to the ICC World Test Championship win in 2021
KL Rahul2022-2022142
Jasprit Bumrah2022-2022131

Current Captain of the Indian Cricket Team

Rohit Sharma has emerged as a key figure in Indian cricket, taking on the responsibilities of captaincy across all cricket game formats. Let’s take a closer look at his captaincy journey in each format.

  • Test Match Captain:

Following the resignation of Virat Kohli, India’s most successful Test captain, Rohit Sharma was appointed as the full-time captain of the Indian Test team in January 2022. This decision came after India’s series loss to South Africa. Rohit, known for his exceptional batting skills, had already established himself as India’s first-choice test opener. His stellar performance in 2021 earned him a well-deserved spot on the ICC’s Test Team of the Year. With 3137 runs in 45 Tests at an average of 46.13, Rohit has proved himself as a formidable force in the longer format of the game.

  • One-Day International (ODI) Captain:

In January 2022, the All-India Senior Selection Committee entrusted Rohit Sharma with the role of India’s full-time ODI captain. His captaincy journey began on December 10, 2017, when he led India for the first time in an ODI against Sri Lanka in Dharamsala. Since then, Rohit has led the team in 13 ODIs, amassing 714 runs at an impressive average of 59.5. During his captaincy tenure, he recorded a double century, a century, and four half-centuries, showcasing his ability to excel as both a leader and a batsman.

  • T20 International (T20I) Captain:

Rohit Sharma’s captaincy prowess extends to the T20I format as well. He captained India for the first time in a T20I series against Sri Lanka in 2017, which India won convincingly with a 3-0 scoreline. After being appointed as India’s full-time limited-overs captain in November 2021, Rohit led the team to a resounding 3-0 victory over New Zealand. As T20I captain, Rohit has amassed an impressive record, scoring 1489 runs in 45 matches at an average of 36.31. His captaincy tenure includes 11 half-centuries and two centuries, further solidifying his status as a dynamic leader in the shortest format of the game.

Rohit Sharma’s captaincy journey has been marked by exceptional performances and notable achievements across all three formats of the game. With his batting prowess and strategic acumen, he has proven to be a capable leader, guiding the Indian team to success in various series and tournaments. As he continues to lead from the front, fans and cricket enthusiasts eagerly anticipate more memorable moments under his captaincy.

Read More: Top 10 Fastest Ball in Cricket History of All Time | Fastest Delivery in Cricket

The Indian cricket team has been fortunate to have had several remarkable captains who have left their mark on the game. From the early years of Indian cricket to the present day, each captain has contributed to the team’s legacy in their own unique way. Currently, the captaincy baton lies in the hands of Rohit Sharma, who has led the team with great success. As the current captain of the Indian cricket team, Rohit continues to carry the hopes and aspirations of millions of cricket fans and strives to lead the team to new heights of glory.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) About Captain of Indian Cricket Team

Who is the Indian cricket team captain now?

Rohit Sharma is currently the captain of the Indian men’s cricket team for the Test series, One-Day Internationals (ODIs), and Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is).

Who is the youngest captain of the Indian cricket team in T20Is?

Suresh Raina holds the record for being the youngest captain of the Indian cricket team in T20Is. He took on the captaincy at the age of 23 years and 197 days.

Who have been the most successful Indian cricket captains?

Kapil Dev, Sourav Ganguly, MS Dhoni, and Virat Kohli are regarded as some of the most successful captains in Indian cricket history. Each of them has made significant contributions and achieved notable milestones during their captaincy tenures.

How many times does the cricket captain change?

There is no specific limitation or rule associated with the change in leadership of the Indian cricket team captain across all formats of the game.


Related Articles

Leave a Comment

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here